Incoherent Book Review: One Day

18 Jul

DAMN THIS BOOK.

Finishing this book, I felt this reaction that I felt once before, from watching that goddamn 500 Days of Summer. So yeah, DAMN this book.

Semi-spoilery recap/doodles from an unstable mind after the cut >>>>


This book tells the story of Dexter and Emma from the day they graduated from uni to twenty years later. I split  the book into four ungodly parts:
1st part: The Part Where Emma Just Can’t Catch A Break and Dex Is Being a Dumb Fuck
2nd part: The Part Where Emma Settles for A Series of Consolation Prizes and Being Unhappy and Dex Is Being a Dumb Fuck, Part Deux
3rd part: The Part When I Hurled This Goddamn Book Accross The Room, Because GOD GURL WHY ARE YOU SO DUMB YOU SHOULD HAVE STAYED WITH JEAN-PIERRE
4nd part: The Part When I Can’t Anymore With Everything, also known as The Part Where I Cried Like A Bitch Baby

Anyway, quick semi-emotional recap:
After their one night stand after graduation, Emma and Dexter maintained a friendship that spanned over twenty years. Emma, after realising that her good grades did not translate into an easy life, began settling for a mediocre life, with jobs that she hated and the boyfriend that she did not love. Dexter came from an upper-class family and used to things coming at him easily. It’s as if he just stood there and success CAME at him. I had to read hundreds of pages of these two dumbfucks ruined their lives in different ways, one for not trying hard enough; and the other one for not knowing when enough is enough. At some halfway point in this book, I swear I shove it inside my bookbag and decided I had enough of reading about stupid people. One day (yesterday actually), I found this book again and mustered the strength to finish it because I’ve paid for it :p.

Then part 3 came and the tone of the book changed. These nitwits seemed to grow up a bit and realised that they had to clean up their acts and so they did. I was so happy for Emma (I may have a little transferance issue on this character) when she finally cut Dexter off (my favorite line in this book was “Dexter, I love you and maybe I always will but I think I just don’t like you anymore.” YOU GO GIRL) and really tried to become a writer instead of continuing her 6 years of dilly-dallying. From this point, the story became more seamless and not-so-dumb. Emma and Dex reconnected, but not before that stupid Dex dropped a bomb on her. I SWEAR IF ANYONE EVER DOES THIS TO ME, I WILL DIE. ON THE FREAKING SPOT. AT THAT EXACT MOMENT AFTER. Forget poison or guns, if anyone hates me enough to kill me, just get someone to do this and I’ll drop dead right away.

So after I cried legit tears reading about DA BOMB, I was kind of hoping that part four would consist of them growing up to their thirties living their separate lives being grown ups SEPARATELY. Yeah, then it kind of didn’t happen, because as it turned out Emma was so stupid. Maybe it’s because I personally believe that giving people second chances has its limits; and Emma unfortunately does not know how to set her limits. It’s not that I don’t believe that these two are in fact soulmates, it’s just that I couldn’t accept the fact that across the span of a decade after she met Dexter, Emma virtually waited for him. Sure there had been other guys, but I think she’d knew all along that no matter how messed up Dexter had been and how awful he’d been to her, she could never get rid of the hopes of  being with him until the end.

And of course, the ending happens. It happened so fast I had to reread it again to make sure that it really happened. I was dumbstruck and felt like I’ve just been slapped across my face with a wet fish. God damn the author of this book. I won’t go into details for those of you who are masochist enough to want to read this, but GOD.

So to summarize the whole experience of reading this book with one word: EXCRUCIATING. I think it’s not because the book itself was so awful, but because it narrates the lives of these two people without embellishment and unfortunately their lives were awful. Heck, I felt awful reading it because in reality, life itself is awful. Therefore, if your purpose of reading a book is to find escapism, yeah, stay away from this book. Go read The Hunger Games trilogy instead.

As awful as it made me feel, at least it provided me with pearls of wisdom:
1. DON’T WAIT
2. DON’T BE STUPID
3. IF A DUDE IS STUPID ENOUGH TO TREAT YOU LIKE SHIT FOR A DECADE, NEVER TAKE HIM BACK NO MATTER HOW HE’S CLEANED UP HIS ACTS. SETTLE FOR THE HOT FRENCH GUY INSTEAD.

PHEW THERE YOU GO IT’S FINALLY OUT OF MY CHEST.

PS: They’re making this book into a movie with Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess playing the lead. With this post I hereby calling my gurlfriends to set an anti-suicide kit up and running to accompany us watching that goddamn thing. Why bother watching it in the first place? Well duh, there will be JIM STURGESS. Game, set, match.

One Response to “Incoherent Book Review: One Day”

  1. nike prima July 26, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    hola
    this is my first time visiting your blog
    thank you for this post, it reminds me to finish the book. still havent finished the book for months! :p
    i have to finish this one before i watch the big screen version

Leave a Reply

