Spicy Potato Wedges

1 Sep

My maid is having fun in her village, I’m home alone and I need you noooooow (no). I LOVE potato wedges but the frozen ones they sell in the supermarket are crazy expensive. Here’s the result of my maidlessness situation in this Lebaran Holiday. I saw some potatoes hanging around in the kitchen and said to myself: GURL I KNOW YOU’RE CRAVING SPICY POTATO WEDGES. GO MAKE THEM. And so I did, and the result was tasty!!! I will never buy frozen potato wedges EVER AGAIN. Because I’m benevolent and would like for you to save some money in these hard times (~~~IHSG, come and rally… rally up up up up don’t let me down T_T) I’m sharing my recipe to you so you’ll never going to buy frozen potato wedges again! YAY

Spicy Potato Wedges
3 medium-sized potatoes, cut into wedges (about 6-8 wedges per potato)
Vegetable oil, to fry

Spice mix – mix throughly:
5 tablespoon of garlic powder –mine’s actually the cheap kind and I reckon it has more flour than garlic. If you’re using the high-quality garlic powder (McCormick’s, etc), use only 2 tablespoon of garlic powder and use 3 tblspn of flour instead
2 tablespoon of chili powder/smoked paprika
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 tablespoon of dried basil leaf/oregano/ any dried Italian herbs
1/2 teaspoon of freshly-cracked blackpepper

HOW

Bring a pot of water to boil. Put a generous amount of salt. Boil potato wedges for about 2-3 minutes, strain them, and pat them dry with a kitchen cloth or tissue. Let them cool. Heat some cooking oil for deep-frying. Deep fry the potato wedges just until some sort of “skin” formed on the potatoes (for about 2 minutes). Take out and strain, let them cool again. Put the spice-mix in a lidded container or a ziploc bag with the cool potatoes, give it a shake until the spice mix coats every single surfaces of the potatoes. Let sit for about 30 minutes or so. Deep fry again for 3-4 minutes. Serve hot as a side dish or snack.

OR if you’re feeling health-conscious and actually have a working oven T_T, you can bake them in the oven. Spread potato wedges in a shallow baking tray, and you can add grated parmesan on top to add more oomph. Yes, I said PARMESAN or other hard-cheeses (aged gouda or aged-edam would work well), therefore Kraft and its lot are out of the consideration. It will be icky. Bake them in a hot oven (180-200 Celcius) for 15 minutes or until potatoes are golden brown.

Leave a Reply

